TC business · IRS Form 1099-KForm 1099-K for transaction coordinators: when card and app payments are reported
Form 1099-K reports payments you received for goods or services through payment cards and through payment apps or online marketplaces (third party settlement organizations). If clients pay you directly by credit, debit or gift card, the card processor sends you a Form 1099-K no matter how many payments or how much. A payment app or online marketplace must send one when the payments you received for goods or services total over $20,000 in more than 200 transactions – though it may send one for less. Copies go to the IRS and to you by January 31. For an agent or brokerage, payments made by card or through a third-party network are reported on Form 1099-K by the payment company and are not reported on Form 1099-MISC or 1099-NEC – so the same fee should not show up on both. Fees paid by check, ACH or wire of $2,000 or more in a year (tax years beginning after 2025) go on the payer's 1099-NEC instead. Whatever forms arrive, all income from your services must be reported on your return; money from friends and family as a gift or repayment of a personal expense is not taxable and should be marked as personal in the app.
Who sends what
Card processor
Form 1099-K for card payments you take directly – any amount, any number.
Payment app or marketplace
Form 1099-K when goods-and-services payments total over $20,000 in more than 200 transactions (they may report less).
Agent or brokerage
Form 1099-NEC for $2,000+ paid by check, ACH or wire in the year – not for card or app payments.
Deadline
Copies to the IRS and to you by January 31.
Keeping the forms straight
- Ask agents who pay through an app to mark it as goods and services – and to leave it off their 1099-NEC.
- Match every 1099-K and 1099-NEC to your own income records, so one fee is not reported twice.
- Mark personal transfers (a friend paying back dinner) as personal in the app.
- Report all business income, whether or not a form arrives.
Questions TCs ask
When does PayPal or Venmo send a 1099-K?
When the goods-and-services payments you received through the app total over $20,000 in more than 200 transactions; it may also send one for lower amounts (IRS, Understanding your Form 1099-K).
Should an agent send me a 1099-NEC if they paid me through an app?
No. Card and third-party network payments are reported on Form 1099-K by the payment company and are not subject to reporting on Form 1099-NEC (Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC).
Do I report income that was not on any 1099?
Yes. Whether or not you receive a Form 1099-K or 1099-NEC, all income from your services must be reported on your tax return.
Related guides
ClosingCode's Money tab records each fee with its deal and a note – so a 1099-K and a 1099-NEC can be checked against what you actually received, without counting a fee twice.
Start free trialSources (IRS, read October 26, 2026): Understanding your Form 1099-K (updated June 28, 2026); Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC (Rev. December 2026).
General information, not tax advice. ClosingCode is software; it is not a tax preparer or CPA. This guide is not a substitute for the advice or services of an attorney.