Skip to content

TC business taxes · Form 1099-NECForm 1099-NEC for transaction coordinators: who sends it, when, and the $2,000 rule

An independent transaction coordinator is paid as a nonemployee. A payer – an agent, team or brokerage – that pays the TC $2,000 or more during the year for services in its trade or business reports it in box 1a of Form 1099-NEC; for tax years beginning after 2025 the threshold rose from $600 to $2,000 and may be adjusted for inflation from 2027. The form goes to the TC and to the IRS by January 31 (the next business day if that is a weekend or holiday). Two common exceptions: payments made by credit card, payment card or a third-party network are reported on Form 1099-K by the payment company, not on a 1099-NEC; and payments to a corporation – including an LLC taxed as a C or S corporation – generally are not reported. None of this changes what the TC owes: the IRS instructions say payments that are not reported may still be taxable to the recipient.

The rules (Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC)

  1. $2,000

    Nonemployee compensation of $2,000 or more in a year (tax years after 2025; $600 before).

  2. Box 1a

    Fees, commissions and other pay for services by someone who is not an employee – including fees paid by one professional to another.

  3. January 31

    File with the IRS and give the TC their copy by January 31; a weekend or holiday moves it to the next business day.

  4. Cards and apps

    Credit card, payment card and third-party network payments go on Form 1099-K, not 1099-NEC.

  5. Corporations

    Generally not reported, including an LLC treated as a C or S corporation.

What a TC should do

  • Give every payer a Form W-9 with the right name and taxpayer ID before the first invoice.
  • Keep your own income record per payer – compare it with each 1099 in February.
  • Report all business income on Schedule C, with or without a 1099.
  • If you pay subcontractors (another TC, an assistant), you may be the one who has to file.

Common mix-ups

  • Expecting a 1099-NEC for money received through a card processor or payment app – look for a 1099-K instead.
  • Two forms for the same income: one from the brokerage and one from the agent – ask who paid you.
  • Old $600 threshold in a payer's process – 2026 payments use $2,000.

Questions TCs ask

Will I get a 1099-NEC if an agent paid me less than $2,000?

For 2026 payments, the payer reports nonemployee compensation of $2,000 or more; below that no 1099-NEC is required, but the income is still taxable.

When should I receive my 1099-NEC?

The payer must furnish it and file it with the IRS by January 31, or the next business day if that date is a weekend or legal holiday.

I was paid through a payment app – why no 1099-NEC?

Payments by card or through a third-party network are reported on Form 1099-K by the payment settlement entity, not on Form 1099-NEC.

ClosingCode's Money tab records every TC fee by payer, so the 1099s you receive in January can be checked against your own numbers in a minute.

Start free trial

Source: IRS Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC, revision for 2026 information returns (irs.gov/instructions/i1099mec, read October 25, 2026).

General information, not tax advice. ClosingCode is software; it is not a tax preparer or CPA. Your own situation and state taxes can change the answer. This guide is not a substitute for the advice or services of an attorney.